Tiny shoe find: Payless Girls’ Fynn Ballet Flat

How long have I been looking for a new pair of black flats? Probably no fewer than a million and a half years. My search grew more active in the past few weeks because I’m going to Ireland in less than a month and I really needed to find flats that would be comfortable enough to wear sightseeing but decent enough to wear out for a night on the town. Also important? I wanted the cheapest pair I could find. Yes, black flats are a staple and worth investing in, but I wanted a pair that I wouldn’t mind ruining in the mud that comes with Ireland’s near-daily rain, or, to be honest, leaving behind to make more room in my suitcase for souvenirs!

I went Ireland-shoe hunting last week and struck out at Target, Dillard’s, Macy’s and a few other stores before finding the perfect pair in the most unexpected place: The kids’ aisle of Payless.

These flats are pretty much everything I wanted. They’re the rare pair of children’s flats that are not boxy and awkward but rather fit like normal women’s shoes. They’re simple, but I love the pleats, and they’re cut high enough to avoid unsightly “toe cleavage.” They have a great, sturdy non-skid rubber sole, which should keep me grounded on slick streets and not wear out like the soles of some flats (I’m looking at you, Missoni for Target). And, at $14.99, they’re completely mud-friendly! Awesome.

It’s hard for me to give you an idea of how these run, size-wize, because I wear anywhere between a 5 and a 6 in adult sizes, but I can tell you, definitively, that I am a size 3 in children’s shoes. Here’s the Fynn flat next to one of my (new!) Converse All-Stars, also a children’s size 3. Hope that’s some help for figuring out how they would fit you!

You can buy these in black here, and the site has them in white and brown, too. They also have the same shoes in adult sizes, 5 and up, here, but they’re pricier at $24.99. Still, though, a steal for a cute, comfortable pair of flats!

Leave a Reply

