My favorite things: San Francisco Soap Company Sugared Citrus lotion

Admit it. When you stay in hotels and find tiny bottles of lotion in the bathrooms, you take them with you when you leave. More often than not, they’re watery and useless and don’t smell like anything, but they’re at least something to throw into your purse for emergencies.

A year ago, I stayed in a hotel somewhere in Iowa for a band trip. I don’t remember anything about the hotel but this: The complimentary lotion was the best I’ve ever smelled. Not only did I grab my bottle on the way out, but I asked a friend in another room to snag me his, too. I’d never heard of the brand, San Francisco Soap Company. The scent is called Sugared Citrus, but I don’t know how to describe what it actually smells like; “citrus” always means “orange” in my brain, but it doesn’t smell like an orange. It’s strong, but too good to get tired of it. I kept one bottle in my purse for a year, one in my backpack, and they were well loved.

When Christmas rolled around this year and my family started asking me what I wanted, I remembered this lotion and thought it was time for an upgrade. I didn’t know where you could find the lotion in a store, but it wasn’t hard to find the San Francisco Soap Company website on Google, and on Christmas morning I had a nice box of Sugared Citrus under the tree.

I haven’t used the body butter or the shower gel yet — don’t want to use everything at once! — but the lotion is great. It’s a lot thicker than the version I got from the hotel sample, perfect for super-dry winter skin, but the scent is just the same, just as wonderful. If you’re looking for a great new scented lotion but don’t want to wear the same Bath and Body Works scent as everyone else, I highly recommend Sugared Citrus. Cheers.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. margie satter
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 13:18:32

    I would like to purchase sugared citrus body lotion..how do I do it??

    Margie Satter

    Reply

    • MG
      Mar 01, 2012 @ 20:22:48

      Hi Margie! You can buy a bunch of the company’s products on their site, sanfranciscosoapcompany.net . Looks like they have a lot of great stuff — hope you find something you like! Let me know if you try something other than Sugared Citrus!

      Reply

  2. -- (@ColonelTweeto)
    Jul 21, 2012 @ 12:57:47

    We always get it at the Ramada chain of hotels.

    Reply

  3. CME
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 09:51:23

    Thank you for the website. I too, came across a tiny little bottle in a hotel(I think Ramada also). Most of them in Motels & Hotels are awful.
    Hand, body and face lotion I find in stores are greasy, thick(heavy on the skin) and sometimes burn.
    This is the FIRST lotion I can use on my face without breaking out, feeling like I need to scrape it off with a putty knife. I also can leave it on under my makeup and not look oily or greasy. I can were it anytime day or night. I like wearing it when I go to bed and so far their has not been any problems, ya know(gunky stuff on your pillow cases)
    I am glad you left the website address to purchase more than a thimble size, because I use it several times a day and not only on my face. I wonder if they sell it in any stores? Does anyone know?

    Reply

  4. kathy weatherup
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 23:30:23

    i’m so glad i’m not the only one to discover this wonderful lotion, Sugared Citrus that is!..:)

    Reply

  5. Nancy - Asheville, NC
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 21:14:41

    Yes! It’s the most naturally scented and pleasantly citrus product I’ve found. I also discovered it at a Ramada Inn where I was staying last month. Glad to know where to purchase it now. Thanks!

    Reply

  6. Tam
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 23:45:02

    Just discovered it at a Ramada Inn in Oregon, but when I went on the soap company’s site the lotion isn’t offered in that scent. 😦 So disappointing!

    Reply

  7. krispikins
    Jun 29, 2013 @ 11:48:12

    This is such wonderful lotion…. I’ve kept the empty bottle from a Ramada hotel for over a year, but I can’t find larger quantities for home use!

    Reply

  8. Lisa
    Jul 01, 2013 @ 19:04:25

    I, too, love this lotion and just used the last of mine from my tiny little tube. I’ve used it sparingly for ages since taking it from a hotel room of mine. I went on their site tonight to purchase some, but it seems like they don’t sell the lotion. Just the body butter, gel, soap bar, and body mist. I’m bummed that they don’t sell the lotion on their website. Any suggestions on where else I could purchase the LOTION?

    Reply

  9. Kim
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 03:45:05

    It’s cheaper to purchase it through a supplier though inconvenient when you really want a regular size bottle but it’s the soap at the hotel that is hardest find but ebay and amazon have sellers. One on amazon sells lots of 20 for $25 but this supplier sells it as a case of 190 for $60. along with other products of the same brand and chain.

    http://hdsupplysolutions.com/shop/KeyWordSearch?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10051&webCatalogId=10051&errorViewName=NoResultsDisplayView&analyticsSearch=&lookAheadSearch=Y&srchTerm=ramada+sfs+citrus+soap

    Reply

Leave a Reply

