By the Book

Hi everyone! Sorry it’s been a while. I’ve been preoccupied with events including foot injury, friends visiting from out of town and, most importantly, this: a new book by my favorite author.

Look, I even left half my face un-blurred so you can see my joy.

The Fault in Our Stars,” by John Green, came out Tuesday, after much anticipation. I read it in about six hours, and in the final hour I cried no fewer than five times. It’s a sad but beautiful book; a book about teens facing cancer, but also a love story between teens facing cancer, and a book about family, and heroism and courage, and so much more. John’s been my favorite author for about four years now, and he has never disappointed. I strongly encourage you to read this book, or any of his other ones.

I grew up dressing up for Harry Potter release parties, Gryffindor robe and all, so I felt like I needed to dress up for “The Fault in Our Stars.” Lame, right? But there you go. Blue and black and white. If I had planned better, I would have accessorized yellow or gold, too, but this is as far as I went.

Also, I’ve totally dressed to match a John Green book before. His first book, “Looking for Alaska,” is my favorite book, hands down. When I spotted a shirt on American Eagle’s website that reminded me of its cover, I bought it without a moment’s hesitation.

Oh, and if you’ve ever noticed that my toenails are nearly always painted blue? That’s a nod to “Looking for Alaska,” too. The “Alaska” in the title is a character, not the state, and one of the few physical descriptors of her included in the book is of her electric blue toenails. Yes, I’m a nerd, but I’m a proud one. Cheers, and, as John often says, thanks for being awesome.

Leave a Reply

