Keeping things simple (and weird!)

I had another skirt-and-boots combo and a trip to the mall planned for Thursday, but after ice skating and walking 9 miles Wednesday, I woke up with a beyond-sore ankle and both plans went out the window. I’m not a doctor, and I’m not an injury-prone athlete, so I could think of only three potential “cures” for my ankle: 1. Ibuprofen. 2. An afternoon of rest. 3. Comfy shoes.

Because I’ve never mastered the art of dressing up your Converse, I ended up keeping my outfit simple: just jeans and a t-shirt, plus a cardigan for warmth. I reached for my favorite school t-shirts first, then thought I’d step it up to a solid color, before finally settling on something more fun: my Keep Austin Weird shirt.

I picked this shirt up last summer, when I was in Austin, Texas for a workshop. I had seen the slogan all over town, but I wasn’t sure what it meant. Turns out, Wikipedia says, “Keep Austin Weird is the slogan adopted by the Austin Independent Business Alliance  to promote small business in Austin, Texas,” and it’s become an idea the people of the city embrace, too — they like the city’s “weird” culture (and I did, too!). The small print on the shirt reads, “Support your local businesses.” I’m not a huge “message T” person, but I like this one. It supports small businesses and makes a great conversation starter. Plus, you know, everyone needs a good tie-dye t-shirt in his/her arsenal.

Also, I did end up getting to two stores, and I managed to pick up some pieces I’m looking forward to turning into outfits. Stay tuned! Cheers.

T-shirt: Outhouse Designs Original Keep Austin Weird Tie Dye Shirt, sz Youth L (adult version here). Cardigan: Target Merona Womens Essential Cardigan Sweater in black, sz XS. Jeans: Levi’s 524 Boot Cut, sz 1 short (shortened).

Leave a Reply

