For New Year’s Eve: Party glitter nails!

What are you doing to ring in the new year? My friends and I are keeping things low-key, probably just baking and watching movies, but I couldn’t help painting my nails for the occasion! My nail blogger friend has been on a glitter topcoat kick lately, so I bought a fun, colorful one with New Year’s in mind. Application was tricky, but I’m happy with the result!

Two similar-but-different pics, one for color, one for shine:

This was a $2 Wet n Wild polish, with a variety of glitter pieces: big silver ones, medium blue and magenta ones, tiny red and green ones. I had dreams of wearing the glitter coat on its own, just layering my nails with glitter, but it didn’t work out so well — the glitter wasn’t packed densely enough, so I ended up with a lot of clear polish and only a few glitter pieces on each stroke.

For this look, I used two coats of silver as a base, then followed with two coats of glitter. The best way to do it is to drop a huge glob of the glitter coat on each nail, then push it around with the brush for sort-of-even coverage (don’t use actual brushstrokes, that’ll lift the glitter off). Finish with two coats of clear polish. And make sure you allow drying time between coats, or it’ll all get messed up! I couldn’t believe that this look took about an hour and 6 coats of polish to produce, but the end result was super worth it. Cheers.

Silver: Wet n Wild Wild Shine in Metallica. Glitter: Wet n Wild Fast Dry in Party of Five Glitters. Clear: Wet n Wild Wild Shine Nail Protector Clear.

Leave a Reply

