Shoe repairman appreciation post

Remember how I was so happy to get my Missoni for Target flats, but sad to find that the soles had nearly worn through after three days of wear?

There’s a shoe repair place right across from where I work, and the man there is probably one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. He fixed a pair of sandals for me last spring and did a great job for a low price, and I guessed he could do the same for my flats. And he totally did! For $20, he replaced the “leather,” aka cardboard, sole with a new rubber one. He also replaced the half-cardboard-half-rubber heel with a full rubber one, for free. They look so much better, and I know they’ll last.

I read a lot of fashion blogs, and I see a lot of posts in which people express their appreciation for their tailors, but I’ve never seen anyone give their shoe repairman any love. Part of this could be because people don’t get their shoes repaired often; I’ve only done it twice. But seriously, if you can find someone who does good work, it’s definitely worth it.

And if you find one as nice as mine, bonus. I dropped off the shoes last Friday and was told they’d be ready a week later, but I was already in the area so stopped in today to see if they were done. I didn’t even have to tell the guy behind the counter what my name was — “my” man had seen me walk in and came over with my shoes! He remembered who I was after meeting me only once or twice before. People like that are special. Treasure them. Cheers.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebekah
    Sep 30, 2011 @ 07:52:25

    They look so much better. After reading your post, I checked out the shoes in the store, and when I flipped them over, I was like…really? I’m not surprised they wore out so fast.

    I never would think to go to a shoe repair place. I throw my shoes out when the bottom gets worn out, even if I love them. I will definitely have to keep that in mind for next time!

    Reply

    • MG
      Sep 30, 2011 @ 09:17:43

      Thanks! I normally wouldn’t bother with a pair of flats, but I just loved these so much I couldn’t bear to lose them, especially after only three days. I’m so glad they came out great! Thanks for commenting!

      Reply

  2. Colleen McCloskey (@SmilinColleen)
    Oct 02, 2011 @ 07:22:48

    I can’t believe they wore like that after just 3 days. I have thought of taking shoes to a shoe repair but never have.

    Reply

  3. Sheyla
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 18:29:04

    WOW! They look great! I should start looking for shoe repairman in my town.
    Take care!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: How to pretend your flats fit « Grammar and Style
  5. Trackback: Tiny shoe find: Payless Girls’ Fynn Ballet Flat « Grammar and Style

Leave a Reply

