In support of T-shirts

I’ve been reading fashion blogs for nearly a year now, and I think I can safely say that I have never seen a T-shirt. I’m not talking about $30 Banana Republic “T-shirts,” or even $8 Old Navy “T-shirts” — those, to me, are just shirts, and they’re worn all the time. The basic T-shirt, however, gets no love. People wear them to sleep or to the gym, but never in real-life situations. I realize most bloggers I read are adults with jobs, and you can’t wear T-shirts to work, but really?  You guys never just get up and throw on a T-shirt and jeans to go to the store?

I’m a college student, so I’m surrounded by T-shirts every day. There’s always some group handing them out on campus, sorority members seem to get new ones every week, and the bookstore sells them so inexpensively that anyone with some measure of school spirit has one in at least four colors. Admittedly, most people do wear them lazily, with athletic shorts and baseball caps and things that I don’t think belong in classrooms. I know we read and like fashion blogs because we like fashion, and T-shirts aren’t fashionable. But I don’t think it’s necessary to stigmatize T-shirts as sloppy, lazy wear, either. I think it’s perfectly acceptable to make one your outfit for the day, as long as you put some effort into it.

The easy thing is to put the shirt on with sweats or jeans, grab your nearest flip flops, do whatever is necessary to kind of tame your hair and run off to class.

But it’s so easy to make a few small, easy changes and make the look a ton neater! Check out what I did today:


Roll up the sleeves and pull up the hem so the shirt actually looks like it fits right. Add a tank top underneath to pick up one of the colors in the shirt. Wear flats instead of your flip flops. BRUSH YOUR HAIR.

I know it’s still not fashionable, and I know it’s not something most of you would put on your blog for a day. But it’s something I can still pull off in college, and I think it’s fine. I honestly welcome your thoughts on this topic. Let me know where you stand on T-shirts.

(Unrelated, but the shirt is a concert T-shirt from Train’s summer tour. I had the pleasure of seeing them (and Maroon 5!) at two different tour stops, and they were wonderful both times. It’s kind of a weird shirt, but Train has been my favorite band since junior high, and it was exciting to find a non-black concert T, so I’m rolling with it. Cheers.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. raincitywest
    Sep 25, 2011 @ 16:46:33

    Totally agree! Great post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

