Petite Fashion Challenge #7: The Little Black Dress

My second Petite Fashion Challenge! So exciting. Last month this was an extremely fun day — I got a chance to ‘meet’ a lot of new petite bloggers, and a lot of people visited Grammar and Style for the first time, too. I love challenge days because they really make you feel like you’re part of a community!

Today’s challenge, hosted by Jessy of The Little Dust Princess, is the Little Black Dress.

A little black dress (LBD) is essential in every woman’s wardrobe. It’s always great for back-up if you run out of outfit ideas for a night out. Adding a pop of colour to your LBD will change up its look and make your dress a little less boring.

For this challenge, add a pop of colour (or two) to your little black dress to change up the look. You could add anything from an accessory to a blazer, or even nail polish!

Be creative anddddd good luck!

I know the Little Black Dress is the classic “night out” dress. Wear one for a night on the town, going to classy places and hanging out with friends. They’re easy to wear, flattering and always in style.

However, sadly, because I am a 20-year-old college student, I don’t really get excuses to wear fancy LBDs. So, here’s something a little different for you: the dressed-down LBD. Still not anything I would wear to class, but simple enough for a day out shopping or a casual dinner.

The dress itself is super basic —  I got it for about $14 at Forever 21 last year. I love the cut of it — the length is perfect, and tie-waist dresses are my favorite. I’m not crazy about the low-cut  front, but, as you’ll see, I generally work around that.

To dress it up, or down, I suppose, I add a colorful tank top under it. The color brightens up the dress and makes it a little less night-out-LBD, and having the extra layer prevents the whole “This feels uncomfortably low-cut” issue, which also makes it more acceptable to wear in a casual setting. I thought the neckline and color plus a necklace would be too much, so I skipped a necklace in favor of flashier earrings.  If I was going out to dinner, I’d throw on wedges or heels, but to wear around all day I’d stick with my flat black sandals.

Tadah! It’s an LBD, but it’s worn simply. Cute and classy but not overdone.

Bonus outfit: My formal LBD. This dress, from Macy’s, was love at first sight. I needed a formal black dress because my school colors are black and gold, so at some point I will be required to wear formal black and gold; I figure a black dress with gold accessories will be the easiest way to do it. I wore the dress to my aunt’s wedding a month ago and was so pleased with everything about it. The cut is fantastic and extremely flattering, and it was comfortable, too.

I stuck with a black belt and black shoes for the wedding, because it was a “Black & White” wedding, but I would love to experiment with it by wearing different accessories. Red belt/shoes? White? Pink? So many possibilities. An adventure for another day.

Can’t wait to see all of your LBDs!

Cheers, MG

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ski Petite
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 19:11:52

    I can see why you fell in love with that second dress. It’s very flattering!

    http://www.SkiPetite.com

    Reply

  2. Cee
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 20:22:10

    I probably would have been self-conscious of the first dress and would wear a tank underneath also! In the first picture, the v-neck doesn’t look as deep as the 2nd — perhaps you could try a big (and long) statement necklace?

    I love the cut of the second dress — very reminiscent of Black Halo’s famous Jackie O dress. Great job on both looks!

    Reply

  3. Liz
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 20:29:37

    I have the same F21 Black dress!!….It was the other dress I had (I only have 2 LBD)….It was too hard to figure out an outfit for that one though…:-)

    Reply

  4. Alterations Needed
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 22:42:15

    Ohh…that second dress is great! I love that silhouette…so classy. 😉

    Reply

  5. Stylepint
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 00:49:26

    I have the same deal with LBDs, I don’t have many occasions to wear them! But you did a great job for this challenge…not only one outfit but two! Love the first version, simple and perfect for college. =)

    Reply

  6. Kiki
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 08:19:17

    I have been on a hunt for a dress like your second dress. It is stunning on you!
    xoxo
    kiki

    Reply

  7. Elaine A (TOBeautyReviews)
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 08:37:22

    Wow I love how the 2nd dress fits you! Don’t worry I’m NOT a 20 year old anything (LOL!) and I hardly have occassions to wear my LBD either 😉

    Reply

  8. Slayerbabe
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 14:27:27

    Great idea about wearing a coloured tank inside! I might even try it out 😉

    Reply

  9. hurricanekerrie
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 18:09:38

    I really love the formal LBD. I want something like that! 🙂

    Reply

  10. The Little Dust Princess
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 15:51:29

    I love the pop of pink underneath! Very creative 😀

    Thank you for participating! : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

