Remixing (Like a boss)

Hello beautiful people! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I’m sorry. You know I love you. It’s just that time of year: the last few weeks of school. If all goes well, I’ll be heading home May 8. If not, May 11. Worst case scenario, May 13. Let’s hope for the 8th, right? I need to get out of here! I love my school, but the papers and projects and general drama are dragging me down.

I haven’t been blogging for two reasons. The first is, as I just said, the crazy-business. The second is that I just have not been dressing well lately! It has rained here for almost a week straight, and I just cannot bring myself to dress well in the rain. It’s been a parade of solid tanks and black cardigans, solid polos, lazy things. After going most of the semester sans hoodies, I’ve had two hoodie days this week. I’ve barely even worn necklaces or earrings. I did manage a super cute Easter outfit, but was too busy celebrating with friends to get a picture. So, I guess I haven’t been blogging because I haven’t been proud of what I’ve worn. I’m sorry!

But, I made up for it big time yesterday. Yesterday was my last real shift at my job/class, so I wanted to dress up even more than I usually do. I took advantage of the cloudy-but-not-rainy day and broke out the pencil skirt I bought in February. Topped it with my cute LOFT blouse and a cardigan for warmth, and finished it off with a belt and wedges (can’t run around my job in heels!). The end result? I think I managed what I’ve been working toward for months: Dressing like a grown-up.

And then! I work 12-hour shifts, and I knew I wouldn’t last the whole time in a pencil skirt, so I threw a pair of jeans in my bag. Untuck the shirt, belt the cardigan, and you have a whole new outfit!

I am seriously so proud of both of these outfits. The ruffly blouse, the pencil skirt, the belted cardigan — all looks that I would never have tried on my own, and a definite step out of my usual dressing habits. But I’ve been so inspired by my favorite petite fashion bloggers — Jean at Extra Petite, Kelly at Alterations Needed, Jess at Stylepint and Kileen at Cute and Little are my current idols — that I wanted to try some things that I thought they would wear. I’m sure they’d look a billion times better, with colors and accessories and actual heels and the like, but for a college kid, it’s not a bad start.

I wish I lived somewhere I could wear outfits like this to work every day. Maybe next year!

Skirt: H &M. Belt: Macy’s (came with the dress from this post). Blouse: LOFT. Cami: Forever 21. Cardigan: LOFT. Jeans: Target. Wedges: Payless.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kileen
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 21:24:36

    you look great and the outfit really looks completely different when paired with jeans and a skinny belt. love it!

    cute & little

    Reply

  2. Alterations Needed
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 21:52:05

    Fabulous outfits! And two in one day…double fabulous! You did one of my favorite combos…ruffly top under a cardigan in an “X” shape! It’s so easy…yet so chic! You pulled it off flawlessly. 😉

    Reply

  3. Stylepint
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 23:10:30

    I think you did wonderful on your outfits, they’re simple and more mature than the average college student look. =)

    Reply

  4. MG
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 23:34:40

    Thanks, to all of you! It’s nice to get positive feedback on outfits from the people who inspired them 😉
    @Kileen Skinny belts are a revelation, I’m definitely going to be on the lookout for more. Do you have any recommendations on where to find ones that are cute, small and cheap?
    @Kelly I think I actually got the whole ruffle top/cardigan/belt combination from one of your posts! I don’t normally shop at LOFT, and I was hesitant to pay so much for this ruffle top, but I really, really like the way it looks. I might invest in some more.
    @Jess In my work/class environment, I’m always with fellow college students, and it makes me sad when dress-up day rolls around and I’m the only one who takes it this seriously. Hopefully, someday I’ll get to dress like this all the time and not look so out of place! It sounds silly, but dressing like a professional really made me feel more like one. Love it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

