A pirate’s life for me

Well, no, the nautical look is more sailors than pirates, isn’t it? But I think pirates are cooler. So, pirates. Yes.

I am hugely in love with the nautical look, so I love that it’s so “in” right now. Today was the first time I tried to pull it off myself.

 

"Staring nonchalently into the distance" is my favorite pose.

Not the greatest shot, but I had to get water in there somehow, right? Sorry for the lame face, I was kind of falling over as the photo took.

I tend to stay on the subtle end of trends, so I wasn’t going to go full-out with the nautical look β€” I thought the stripes and colors were sufficient. But, I couldn’t help adding the earrings, because they’re precious. I threw on the necklace because I thought the outfit needed it, and even though it doesn’t totally match, I thought it worked well. You can’t tell from the photo, but it’s a long gold necklace made up of a series of chains with differently-sized links.

I just discovered "super macro" mode on my camera, and I love it.

Proof that I managed to rock nautical? A girl in my Spanish class looked and me and said, “Well, you’re all boats and ho’s today, aren’t you?” I am not entirely positive that this is a compliment, but I’m going to take it as one. πŸ˜‰ Cheers!

PS, today’s outfitβ€” Skirt and shirt: Old Navy. Shoes: Wal-Mart. Earrings: Forever 21. Necklace: Target.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 09:16:34

    I’m a huge fan of the nautical look and the location of these pretty pictures!

    Reply

    • MG
      Apr 14, 2011 @ 11:15:59

      Thanks, Ashley! My photos aren’t super great, because I’m limited to “backpack tripod,” but over the past few weeks I’ve developed an eye for locating the few picturesque places on my campus πŸ™‚ I love your photos! They all look great.

      Also, I saw on your blog that you’re a Chicago girl β€” cheers! I’m at school in Missouri, but I was born and raised in the suburbs. My heart’s always in the Windy City.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

