Pantsless Pattern

(Ridiculous title. But you know what? Bet you anything I end up with a ton of views on it. Because that’s how the internet works.)

The weather here has been so beautiful lately! Today was only 60 or so, but still. Once we get to weather this nice, I don’t wear pants. I don’t remember if I’ve told you this yet (probably already did, but my memory is awful, so forgive me), but I mostly gave up pants last summer. I worked a job that required me to wear full-length khakis outside from 9 to 4 in 80 degree weather. So, on my days off, no pants. No shorts, because I hate my thighs. Dresses or skirts, always.

It’s hard to pull off in a college setting, where half the world just wears their pajamas. “What are you dressed up for?” people ask. No reason. Just like it.

I think I’m back on track with the Color Rotation, and if I’m correct, today was a pattern day. I always feel a little guilty about pattern day because it’s not a challenge for me — I wear them all the time. I have striped shirts, and patterned dresses, but I thought I’d go with one of my many patterned skirts instead. This is one of my favorite skirts, another one of those love-at-first-sight buys. I nearly always pair it with a blue cami and a cardigan, but I’ve also done it with a plain black T or with a black tank over a blue cami. I love, love, love patterned skirts with black in the color scheme, because you can style them a billion different ways. I will make a post about this at some point.

In honor of another beautiful day, I managed some more outdoor pics. I took a risk and snapped these shots right across the street from where I work — hope no one looked out a window and saw me frolicking through the trees, taking awkward photos while using my backpack as a tripod. Back to the blurred face, because I forgot my sunglasses, but I think it’s a good look, anyway. Isn’t there some scary movie where people lose their faces? Or an episode of Doctor Who? I don’t know. I don’t hate it.



Skirt, Shoes: Forever 21. Cardigan, Cami: Kohl’s. Nothing recent.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Colleen McCloskey
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 23:02:47

    It’s funny how you feel guilty on pattern day since you usually wear them. Pattern day is the most challenging for me. Red almost shouldn’t be part of my challenge. Well it’s a challenge to not wear red every day for me.

    The 7th probably should have been pattern day. or maybe earlier. I had a few days where I didn’t get dressed so tomorrow is pattern day for me.

    Reply

    • MG
      Apr 10, 2011 @ 16:16:04

      I’ve lost track so badly that I’ve mostly given up on the rotation, haha, but I am trying to stick to colors instead of neutrals, and not wear the same color too often. It’s not always successful, and it’s not quite in line with the challenge, but switching into color mode has been a huge change for me (and I’m loving it!).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

