In the Works

This is a tricky time of year for me. I’m two weeks away from spring break, finally, but the two weeks might possibly kill me. Three big projects, one ridiculous class, the constant fight to maintain my sanity.

This blog is one of the methods of escape I have. Some people run or journal or drink themselves silly to keep going; I eat cookies and climb rocks and now occasionally blog. It’s so far removed from what I do and focus on in my actual life that I feel like I’m being someone else for a while.

In addition to keeping up this blog, I’m embarking on two other ‘personal’ projects for the next few weeks. I’m filling you in, hoping that it will give me a reason to stick to them. Can’t tell you I failed, can I?

  • Since I’ve gotten into fashion blogs and style-type things, I’ve started shopping more. I used to go months without buying new clothes. Now I’m buying boots one day, scarves the next, blowing $100 on t-shirts and skirts at Old Navy a few days later. It’s a bad habit to get into, especially on a college budget, and I need to be saving money so I can feed myself at my out-of-state internship this summer. So, I’m not going to buy anything for the next two weeks. “Two weeks? Big deal. Grow up and give it up for a month.” I know, I would, but I am also honest with myself. I’m going to be at home for spring break, by all my favorite malls and stores I don’t have access to 9 months of the year. I’m going to shop. Just nothing between now and then.
  • You know how I said a few paragraphs ago that I eat cookies to keep going? It’s taken a lot to keep me going lately, so there have been a lot of cookies. We all know what this means.  I need to get back into shape for two reasons: 1) I need to fit into all of last year’s spring/summer clothes! 2) That out-of-state internship? It’s in California. I’ve avoided swimsuits successfully for two years, but I think I’m finally going to have to bite the bullet on that one this summer. I’m a mostly sedentary person, and I know that when last year I went from sedentary to 2 miles a day in preparation for a 5k, I was fitting into my pants again in less than a week. Therefore, goal: 2 miles a day for the next two weeks. We’ll see how that goes.

There you have it, my two missions for the next two weeks. The primary mission, of course, is to survive and not fail out of college. But my sub-missions, I suppose, are to save money and start exercising. Good habits! Wish me luck!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. designedbyann
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 01:13:15

    Hello there! Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog.
    I have my blog going for a while, but to be honest it never pushed me to buy more clothes (as I don’t do to many outfit posts)…For example I bought pair of shoes a month ago, but didn’t have the time to “feature” them yet!!
    As for the dieting/exercising thing I can feel you…Five years ago I went on a “plan” to lose weight for vacationing in Barcelona. I cut out on sweets (only once a week) and went to the gym as much as possible (I even managed to go 8 days in a row)! I exercised often, but those 8 days really did the trick (well, it took me one week to go to the gym again, I was so burned out)!!
    I wish you good luck, but in any case don’t give up on swimsuits because you haven’t reached you “goal” shape…it doesn’t worth it!!!
    Anna

    Reply

    • MG
      Mar 14, 2011 @ 10:07:37

      Thanks for the comment!
      It’s not so much that I’m buying clothes for the blog, but rather that the blogs are making me more aware of clothes, and I want all of them! I’ll read six posts on floral skirts and decide they must be important, so I then go out and buy two floral skirts. Or scarves, or dresses, or whatever. Life was so much easier when I was content wearing school t-shirts and jeans 😉
      I don’t have your self-control with sweets, I’m cutting down but not out. As a college kid, I have a problem with eating all night while I’m up doing homework- that’s going to be the main thing I eliminate. Hopefully, that plus the running should do something!
      And no worries, I won’t give up on swimsuits! They annoy me more than anything else, so I just would rather not bother- it’s not worth it for a Missouri swimming pool! For a California beach, though, I’ll make the effort.
      MG

      Reply

  2. Sheyla
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 21:08:30

    Wow. Good luck on your goals. On the shopping area, you don’t have to buy clothes just so you can post about it. Check out the pieces you already have and make new looks out of them. If you’re going to buy stuff anyway, get accessories because they have the power to transform outfits. Also, don’t follow fashion blogs and trends too closely. Your style is YOUR style and don’t let blogs tell you any differently. I recommend that you buy Nina Garcia’s The One Hundred. Garcia’s the fashion director at Marie Clare (and a Project Runway judge); in the book she lists the key pieces that every woman should have in their closet. I think you’ll like the book very much and it will help you very much. Take care 🙂

    http://pinkwedges.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  3. MG
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 23:15:58

    Thanks, Sheyla! I’ve heard about that book before, and I’m definitely interested in reading it now. I can’t buy it yet — 2 week shopping ban! 😉 — but I’ll see if my library has a copy.

    Reply

  4. Colleen
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 16:26:44

    I enjoy your goals and don’t think it is crazy to only go 2 weeks.

    But do not run everyday. You need at least 1 rest day a week. You could do yoga or stretching on rest day but only run 6 days a week or something.

    Also I sign up to receive your comments all the time. I even click the button to get them, but then I never receive an email when there is a reply. I’m sure you reply due to you replying to 2 of 2 comments above by others. I guess I should go back and check all the old posts now.

    Reply

    • MG
      Mar 21, 2011 @ 19:51:43

      I totally failed on the running mission. I went from no running to two miles, two nights in a row, then could hardly walk for a few days. So, that was not so bright. I’ve been too busy to go to the gym these past few days, or even to get outside, so I haven’t run since. I’m going to start up again after spring break and hopefully stay on track this time.

      Reply

      • Colleen McCloskey
        Mar 21, 2011 @ 19:53:55

        Apparently I do get your comments in my email.

        Also set goals that are actually achievable.
        Maybe even an exercise duration for the week so you could skip 2 stays and just do some long workout to meet it.
        Don’t only do running (because a long day of running might kill you with not doing anything for so long. ha)

      • MG
        Mar 21, 2011 @ 21:39:47

        I think I overdo it because even after being sedentary for months, I can do about a 1.5 miles before I start feeling pain. I think, “Oh, hey, I’m in fine shape! I don’t have to follow those getting-started plans that are all over the internet!” I just need to remind myself that I am not actually a runner and I need to work up to a regular routine.

      • Colleen McCloskey
        Mar 21, 2011 @ 22:01:25

        I tend to find that 90% of me is fine increasing my exercise after a point of not exercising but that 10% is killer. I am on a rest week right now due to overdoing it and not stopping and continuing to work out when my shins started to bother me. Now they are bad and I have a 30k this weekend.

Leave a Reply

