Accepted!

I got an exciting e-mail today: I’ve been approved for membership in the IFB, or the Independent Fashion Bloggers! I applied right after I started this blog because I know a lot of blogging is building up a network of other blogger friends, but I thought I would get rejected ā€” I have less than a week’s worth of posts to my name, and none of it is very good. But I’m in! I got the e-mail in class and had to stifle a happy dance.

I’m probably being delusional here, but I’m hoping this acceptance might bring me a few followers, or at least readers. Are you there, readers? I would love to hear from you!

If you’re a blogger who just found my blog, I would love any advice you have as I continue working out my basic blog style. Are my entries too long? Too wordy? Cheesy? Formal? Too much me, too little style?

How do you feel about the pictures? I know they’re terrible, but that can’t be helped ā€” this is a secret project in my everyday life, so I’m dependent on whatever I can get with my auto-timer or the one friend who’s in on the secret. My camera is basic and my dorm is a less-than-glamorous setting, but I do what I can. Does it bother you to not have my face in the pictures or can you live with that? If I post a picture of a pair of shoes, would you rather I talk about the shoes before or after the picture?

I’m very much a beginning blogger, and even more of a beginning fashion blogger, so if you have ideas, send them my way! I will, of course, return the favor and look at your blog, too.

Cheers!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rebekah
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 14:07:26

    Hello! I’m a new follower (and a fellow editor and grammar geek), and I’m catching up on your blog. I just joined the IFB this week. I don’t have much advice for you as I’ve only been blogging since the beginning of February, but I just wanted to stop by and say hey.

    Reply

    • MG
      Mar 16, 2011 @ 19:55:50

      Hey Rebekah! Thanks for stopping by! I like your blog- the book background is cute and your daughter is beautiful. Congrats!
      I noticed that you follow the blog style of listing where each item you’re wearing is from. I’m debating whether I should do that. What do you think?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

